The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

Kentucky Derby

bleednucksblue

Lookin At Lucky is currently the odds on favorite at about 3-1 (3 races, 2 firsts and a third place finish)...

I would choose Sidney's Candy as he is currently 5-1 and is the second favorite right now (3 races, all first place finishes).

Dublin at 12-1 could also be a dark horse (2 seconds and a third).

Ice box currently at 10-1 odds (2 first place finishes and a 5th)...

I do a little gambling during the summers at my local track (Emerald Downs in Auburn, WA), so I'm no expert...But I would say that any of these four will have a good chance at winning it.

Edit: Remember though that their are 20 horses slated to start, it can become quite chaotic at some points of the race. Mine That Bird was last year's winner and was a 50-1 long shot! Anything can happen and sometimes it is worth it to put a little money on a long shot

If I were to place a bet it would be on Super Saver (14/1) or Devil May Care (12/1)

Devil May Care might be a bit of a risky bet though, as it's a female horse that's never run against males before. Quite an interesting story behind it. If it were to win it would be the fourth female to ever do so.

http://www.vancouversun.com/sports/Devil+Care+aims+rare+Derby+feat/2955830/story.html

My picks are actually looking quite good. Super saver is down to 7/1, and devil may care is currently at 11/1, but when you take into account that it's one of only three horses that have won on a sloppy track it seems like a decent bet.

EDIT: Turns out that Super Saver has also won on a sloppy tack. Sweet.

Personally, I love horse racing. Back in the day...like the 20s or 30s horse racing was the biggest sport going.