The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

Buying a car from the states

apollo

Hi everyone, I really need some help! This is my first time buying a car, let alone buying one from the states.

To be exact I'm buying it from California, is there a certain percentage you have to pay to register the car once you get here or a percentage you have to pay at the border? Or does it depend on the cars black book value or the price you buy the car for.

All help is appreciated thank you!

• 1 year later...

^ Buy from the states...

- taxes aren't much

- take a picture of the guy off your cell if needed (sneak a pic?) *want to be safe

- get info on his business (or home) *want to be safe

- activate your 3 days once you are the official owner of the truck (you can drive it right through if you plan on going for an extended trip)

Go to the border one day if you need to do anything additional information, they'll tell you everything you need to know.

www.riv.ca

Gives you step by step on how to import.

http://www.icbc.com/registration-licensing/buy-vehicle/import-vehicle

You need to let CBSA know 72 hours in advance if possible. If it's not plated or insured you'll need a binder of insurance from ICBC, and a trip/in-transit permit (like a paper license plate) to get the vehicle home issued by the state you're buying it in, unless you're getting it on a flatdeck.

Depending on the year, you'll need it inspected federally/provincially (or both).

Unless you're getting a smokin' deal it may or may not be worth the hassle. Remember to get the ORIGINAL Certificate of Title. No title you're screwed. I was looking at importing a motorcycle and even though there's less hoops with motorcycles, it's still a lot hassle in my opinion.