Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Madness

OMG Earthquake?

2,111 posts in this topic

from NOAA

+1, thanks for that list.

Some BC communities on there. Anyone know how bad the waves could be by the time it reaches here?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hawaii communities are already under immediate evacuation.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

oh man now Fiji is on the radar for a tsunami !

gotta start calling friends and family

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hawaii is about 2 and a half hours away from being hit.

At that time, we'll see if it'll reach us.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The UN and Russians have emergency response teams on stand-by.

An encouraging thing is that the reporter keeps repeating how prepared not only Japan is, but many other countries.. Let's hope this won't be the disaster anticipated.. :(

Edited by Sacha Michel
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hawaii communities are already under immediate evacuation.

what have you read.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

West coast towns most vulnerable to a tsunami are Port Alberni and Tofino.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

looking at that Tsunami pictures just before hitting the inland made me a bit scared

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
The following list gives estimated times of arrival for

locations along the North American Pacific coast from a

tsunami generated at the given source location. The

list is ordered by arrival time starting with the earliest.

Since tsunami speed is directly related to

water depth, tsunami ETAs can be computed independent of

tsunami amplitude. THE LISTING OF A TSUNAMI ARRIVAL TIME

BELOW DOES NOT INDICATE A WAVE IS IMMINENT. The listed arrival

time is the initial wave arrival. Tsunamis can be dangerous

for many hours after arrival, and the initial wave is not

necessarily the largest.

Source:

Lat: 38.0N

Lng: 142.9E

Mag: 7.9

O-time: 0546UTC

Date: MAR 11

Estimated times of initial tsunami arrival:

DART 21415 2348 AKST MAR 10 0848 UTC MAR 11

Shemya, Alaska 0020 AKST MAR 11 0920 UTC MAR 11

Attu, Alaska 0020 AKST MAR 11 0920 UTC MAR 11

DART 21414 0020 AKST MAR 11 0920 UTC MAR 11

Amchitka Pass, Alaska (125 miles W of Adak) 0034 AKST MAR 11 0934 UTC MAR 11

Amchitka, Alaska 0037 AKST MAR 11 0937 UTC MAR 11

DART 46413 0059 AKST MAR 11 0959 UTC MAR 11

Atka, Alaska 0116 AKST MAR 11 1016 UTC MAR 11

Adak, Alaska 0118 AKST MAR 11 1018 UTC MAR 11

DART 46408 0119 AKST MAR 11 1019 UTC MAR 11

DART 46402 0145 AKST MAR 11 1045 UTC MAR 11

Nikolski, Alaska 0159 AKST MAR 11 1059 UTC MAR 11

DART 46403 0219 AKST MAR 11 1119 UTC MAR 11

Akutan, Alaska 0224 AKST MAR 11 1124 UTC MAR 11

Dutch Harbor, Alaska 0228 AKST MAR 11 1128 UTC MAR 11

Unimak Pass, Alaska (80 miles NE of Dutch Harbo 0236 AKST MAR 11 1136 UTC MAR 11

St. Paul, Alaska 0239 AKST MAR 11 1139 UTC MAR 11

DART 46409 0300 AKST MAR 11 1200 UTC MAR 11

King Cove, Alaska 0303 AKST MAR 11 1203 UTC MAR 11

Sand Point, Alaska 0304 AKST MAR 11 1204 UTC MAR 11

Perryville, Alaska 0326 AKST MAR 11 1226 UTC MAR 11

DART 46410 0326 AKST MAR 11 1226 UTC MAR 11

Cold Bay, Alaska 0337 AKST MAR 11 1237 UTC MAR 11

Chignik Bay, Alaska 0357 AKST MAR 11 1257 UTC MAR 11

Kodiak, Alaska 0358 AKST MAR 11 1258 UTC MAR 11

Cape Suckling, Alaska (75 miles SE of Cordova) 0359 AKST MAR 11 1259 UTC MAR 11

Old Harbor, Alaska 0400 AKST MAR 11 1300 UTC MAR 11

Hinchinbrook Entrance, Alaska (90 miles E of Se 0409 AKST MAR 11 1309 UTC MAR 11

Seward, Alaska 0423 AKST MAR 11 1323 UTC MAR 11

Alitak, Alaska 0425 AKST MAR 11 1325 UTC MAR 11

Elfin Cove, Alaska 0425 AKST MAR 11 1325 UTC MAR 11

Kennedy Entrance, Alaska (40 miles SW of Homer) 0428 AKST MAR 11 1328 UTC MAR 11

Saint Matthew Island, Alaska 0433 AKST MAR 11 1333 UTC MAR 11

Cape Fairweather, Alaska (80 miles SE of Yakuta 0433 AKST MAR 11 1333 UTC MAR 11

Yakutat, Alaska 0433 AKST MAR 11 1333 UTC MAR 11

Sitka, Alaska 0433 AKST MAR 11 1333 UTC MAR 11

Salisbury Sound, Alaska (25 miles NW of Sitka) 0434 AKST MAR 11 1334 UTC MAR 11

Port Alexander, Alaska 0434 AKST MAR 11 1334 UTC MAR 11

the Alaska/British Columbia border 0538 PST MAR 11 1338 UTC MAR 11

Valdez, Alaska 0443 AKST MAR 11 1343 UTC MAR 11

Langara Island, British Columbia 0543 PST MAR 11 1343 UTC MAR 11

Cordova, Alaska 0452 AKST MAR 11 1352 UTC MAR 11

Cape Decision, Alaska (85 miles SE of Sitka) 0455 AKST MAR 11 1355 UTC MAR 11

DART 46419 0608 PST MAR 11 1408 UTC MAR 11

Homer, Alaska 0516 AKST MAR 11 1416 UTC MAR 11

DART 46404 0625 PST MAR 11 1425 UTC MAR 11

the north tip of Vancouver Island, British Colu 0626 PST MAR 11 1426 UTC MAR 11

DART 46407 0632 PST MAR 11 1432 UTC MAR 11

Craig, Alaska 0534 AKST MAR 11 1434 UTC MAR 11

Ketchikan, Alaska 0540 AKST MAR 11 1440 UTC MAR 11

Juneau, Alaska 0543 AKST MAR 11 1443 UTC MAR 11

DART 46411 0656 PST MAR 11 1456 UTC MAR 11

Tofino, British Columbia 0706 PST MAR 11 1506 UTC MAR 11

Gambell, Alaska 0606 AKST MAR 11 1506 UTC MAR 11

Prince Rupert, British Columbia 0711 PST MAR 11 1511 UTC MAR 11

the Washington-British Columbia border 0712 PST MAR 11 1512 UTC MAR 11

Neah Bay, Washington 0718 PST MAR 11 1518 UTC MAR 11

Clatsop Spit, Oregon 0719 PST MAR 11 1519 UTC MAR 11

La Push, Washington 0719 PST MAR 11 1519 UTC MAR 11

Cape Blanco, Oregon 0719 PST MAR 11 1519 UTC MAR 11

the Oregon-Washington border 0720 PST MAR 11 1520 UTC MAR 11

Point Grenville, Washington 0721 PST MAR 11 1521 UTC MAR 11

Port Moller, Alaska 0622 AKST MAR 11 1522 UTC MAR 11

Charleston, Oregon 0723 PST MAR 11 1523 UTC MAR 11

Douglas/Lane County Line, Oregon (10 miles SW o 0724 PST MAR 11 1524 UTC MAR 11

Cape Mendocino, California 0724 PST MAR 11 1524 UTC MAR 11

Cascade Head, Oregon (70 miles SW of Portland) 0724 PST MAR 11 1524 UTC MAR 11

Tillamook Bay, Oregon 0726 PST MAR 11 1526 UTC MAR 11

Horse Mountain, California (50 miles SW of Eure 0727 PST MAR 11 1527 UTC MAR 11

Fort Bragg, California 0728 PST MAR 11 1528 UTC MAR 11

Humboldt Bay, California 0729 PST MAR 11 1529 UTC MAR 11

Crescent City, California 0730 PST MAR 11 1530 UTC MAR 11

Seaside, Oregon 0731 PST MAR 11 1531 UTC MAR 11

the Oregon-California border 0731 PST MAR 11 1531 UTC MAR 11

Westport, Washington 0732 PST MAR 11 1532 UTC MAR 11

Point Arena, California 0733 PST MAR 11 1533 UTC MAR 11

Newport, Oregon 0733 PST MAR 11 1533 UTC MAR 11

Gualala Point, California (80 miles NW of San F 0735 PST MAR 11 1535 UTC MAR 11

Point Reyes, California 0746 PST MAR 11 1546 UTC MAR 11

Davenport, California (10 miles NW of Santa Cru 0747 PST MAR 11 1547 UTC MAR 11

Point Sur, California 0749 PST MAR 11 1549 UTC MAR 11

Astoria, Oregon 0751 PST MAR 11 1551 UTC MAR 11

Monterey, California 0752 PST MAR 11 1552 UTC MAR 11

Port Angeles, Washington 0755 PST MAR 11 1555 UTC MAR 11

Ragged Point, California (45 miles NW of San Lu 0758 PST MAR 11 1558 UTC MAR 11

DART 46412 0759 PST MAR 11 1559 UTC MAR 11

Point Concepcion, California 0805 PST MAR 11 1605 UTC MAR 11

Port San Luis, California 0811 PST MAR 11 1611 UTC MAR 11

Bella Bella, British Columbia 0812 PST MAR 11 1612 UTC MAR 11

San Francisco, California 0816 PST MAR 11 1616 UTC MAR 11

Cape Newenham, Alaska 0723 AKST MAR 11 1623 UTC MAR 11

Santa Barbara, California 0824 PST MAR 11 1624 UTC MAR 11

Rincon Point, California (15 miles SE of Santa 0835 PST MAR 11 1635 UTC MAR 11

San Pedro, California 0839 PST MAR 11 1639 UTC MAR 11

Santa Monica, California 0839 PST MAR 11 1639 UTC MAR 11

Newport Beach, California 0845 PST MAR 11 1645 UTC MAR 11

La Jolla, California 0848 PST MAR 11 1648 UTC MAR 11

Seattle, Washington 0851 PST MAR 11 1651 UTC MAR 11

Alamitos Bay, California (20 miles SE of L.A.) 0854 PST MAR 11 1654 UTC MAR 11

the California-Mexico border 0854 PST MAR 11 1654 UTC MAR 11

Hooper Bay, Alaska 0854 AKST MAR 11 1754 UTC MAR 11

Little Diomede Island, Alaska 0904 AKST MAR 11 1804 UTC MAR 11

Dillingham, Alaska 0946 AKST MAR 11 1846 UTC MAR 11

Nome, Alaska 1059 AKST MAR 11 1959 UTC MAR 11

Unalakleet, Alaska 1430 AKST MAR 11 2330 UTC MAR 11

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i believe the tsunami is supposed to hit hawaii at 2:59 HST

russia is being hit now

and for those who want to know the difference between a tsunami watch and warning:

as per twitter:

Diff between Tsunami warning and Tsunami watch. Warning = Get the F out of there. Watch = pull up a chair and watch.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

^Thanks for the info.

I don't think I'm going to sleep tonight.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

WoW this is so sad. Just saw a dog get swept away. :( and 2 People Just got cut off and most likly killed..

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i believe the tsunami is supposed to hit hawaii at 2:59 HST

russia is being hit now

and for those who want to know the difference between a tsunami watch and warning:

as per twitter:

Diff between Tsunami warning and Tsunami watch. Warning = Get the F out of there. Watch = pull up a chair and watch.

Exactly what we're doing now.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.