The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

Food Thread

Redacted

Well not quite as deep as something like the God Thread but I really like cooking/eating (hurrrr) and I was wondering what everyone'd favorite foods and dishes are? I'm not really good at this whole making a thread thing I feel like there is a lot more expected of me than what I'm putting out there right now... Yeah.

I mean I would go first but my level of expertise is around "Capable of boiling noodles".

Since summer is around the corner (right,? I'm sure any day now)....here's a tasty little treat.

Take an apple, cut in slices.

Mix brown sugar and honey in a dish

Coat apple slices with brown sugar/honey mixture

Throw on the BBQ until caramelized

EAT!

I recently discovered how easy it is to make crepes...even gluten-free and even lactose-free ones.

Put this in a blender:

1 cup milk (use almond milk for lactose-free)

1/3-1/2 cup flour (use rice flour and tapioca starch for gluten-free)

2 eggs

2 tablespoons melted butter (use canola oil for lactose-free)

Blend for a couple minutes. Scrape sides and blend for another minute. Let it sit for 10-30 minutes (optional, but makes it more fluffy).

Pour some into the middle of a hot non-stick pan - take up a little less than half the pan. Then using a spatula, lightly pull (very lightly!) the liquid in each direction to make it more thin. Wait a couple minutes (till starting to brown like a regular pancake), flip with a rubber spatula (should hold together well), and brown the other side for a minute or two, then ready.

Serve with whatever you like. Fresh stawberries and Nutella spread is a personal favourite - crushed walnets puts it over the top.

---------------------------------

My wife can't have gluten, and is lactose intolerant, so crepes is something she can never get. In fact, until I made them the first time a couple of months ago, she had never had them. Now I make them once a week for her - it's so easy.