The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

Booth Can't Pass

hodgson99

First off, I'm not trashing the Canucks. This isn't an "over-reaction" thread; I've noticed and observed this particular aspect of Booth's game for over a month now (I know, I'm a self-proclaimed expert). But, as disappointed as I am about the Canucks going down 0-2 to the Kings, I still believe they can come back and win this series. One game at a time. (But, to be honest, the way they're playing now, and the way they're tooled as a team, I don't honestly think they'll make it past the 2nd round...that hurts to me to say it, but just watching some of the other series, and those teams just seem to be playing with an extra urgency, or jump, that is missing from our team this year. Hoping they can turn things around in L.A.

Back to my point...

Have any of you noticed that David Booth can't pass? I've been watching him for a while now, and he just doesn't have the East-West, team-instincts kind of game. Of course, he's got great speed, he's strong on the puck, hard to knock-off and will also deliver a good hit once in a while. He has "exciting" one-on-one moves coming down the wing, he drives to the net fearlessly and in doing all this, he certainly creates chances through shots on goal, rebounds and just plain wrecking havoc. But he can't make a basic cross-ice pass, tape to tape. Especially when the target teammate is skating full-speed, his timing is off. I've noticed that his backhand pass attempts are even more atrocious; usually ends up being a turnover.