The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

Question For Business Owners.

McMillan

What did you do to prepare yourself for starting your own business? What factors did you not consider that came to be major hurdles? Where did the start up cash come from?

I'm curious because I want to own my own business. Probably not for 5 years however I don't want to leave the business side of preparations aside to find out I'll need to spend another 2 years from when I want to open to prepare myself for just that. I've always figured taking some book keeping courses would be largely beneficial however beyond that to be honest I'm a bit lost. The business in question will be a bakery/cafe with my (then) wife. One of the biggest hurdles I see if the cash. Being as I work as a cook and my fiance a baker we're not exactly high rollers so finding the cash to start up I see as an issue. What did you do when you decided to start up?

Any advise would be appreciated.

Cheers.

I almost started my own lawn care business when I returned home from Afghanistan as a side business then eventually turn it into my full time career.

I think for any new business networking and building a clientele is huge. You need to give people the answer to the question "Well, why would I go to your bakery/cafe instead of ______"

Having a bake sale/sampler table out in the general public and getting your names out so people could not only test the product but also get a feel for the owners/operators. I know personally, I would love a ma and pa type bakery or cafe to go to on a lunch break or to get a loaf of bread if I felt a personal connection with the owners and knew they had good product.

If you own your home you could get financing secured against it.

Do you plan on buying an existing business or opening your own?

Location is always important. If you plan on buying an existing business make sure you have an accountant go over their books before you purchase.