Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Hank Moody

Anyone ever worked at the Brick?

11 posts in this topic

Hey guys.

So i'm a university student currently about to enter my 3rd year at UBC. I got called in for a job interview at the Brick today and am scheduled for tommorow.

I just need some advice from anyone who's ever worked there. Is it a good job? I know it's all commission based, but can you make good commission or is it a pipe dream to believe you will make more than working your average 10.25/hour job?

I like to say i'm extremely personable and people-oriented, but i've never really sold Furniture or Matresses or anything. I'm sure i'd learn, but will I be able to become good enough to make a decent side income for school expenses while doing full time courses?

Just want some advice for some people who've worked there before!

The Brick has an absolutely terrible reputation, I honestly don't know how they're still up and running.

If you've ever walked into a store they hound you worse than Future Shop chumps on commission. From my outside-> looking-in impression, I imagine they only survive by exploiting elderly clients that walk through the door, and you just upsell upsell upsell as many of them are too trusting and have trouble saying no.

With that said, based on how persistent the employees are there, I wouldn't be surprised if they really put a lot of pressure on you to sell. I find it hard to believe people are that obnoxious otherwise, even in a general sales position.

The Brick has an absolutely terrible reputation, I honestly don't know how they're still up and running.

If you've ever walked into a store they hound you worse than Future Shop chumps on commission. From my outside-> looking-in impression, I imagine they only survive by exploiting elderly clients that walk through the door, and you just upsell upsell upsell as many of them are too trusting and have trouble saying no.