#1 FlappyLappy

FlappyLappy

K-Wing Regular

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts

Posted 11 August 2012 - 11:54 AM

Hey Guys,

I am in a bit of a dilemma. I have signed off on a job offer of $40k in a entry level Accounts Payable position that starts in a week and a half. The company has myself and 2 others in the acct department. Growth will be slow. They said they will provide full training and software training (use some custom software)

Yesterday I had an interview with a oil and gas company in calgary for a position that is similar Its a Accounts Payable/Junior Accountant role. This organization uses SAP (ERP system) which I have zero experience in. I know I can do the accounts payable portion of the job thats easy, the junior stuff I have done in school but never in the work place. I guess my question is how flexible are some organizations with training and being patient with a new hire who is willing to learn. BTW these guys offered $53k and tons of growth potential in calgary.

I have to decide by 430pm monday

Thoughts?

#2 KING ALBERTS

KING ALBERTS

Canucks Regular

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,250 posts

Posted 11 August 2012 - 12:07 PM

depends how solid the contract is that you signed...

but i would go for more money... you might think your doing the right thing by sticking with the first guys you signed a contract to - but in a matter of weeks, even days, you will regret not going for the higher paying job.
Posted ImagePosted Image

i fel off the banwagon and hit my hed on a rok

#3 mau5trap

mau5trap

Canucks Rookie

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,664 posts

Posted 11 August 2012 - 12:11 PM

Wooaaahhh calm down there Justin Schultz

:P

Posted Image

#4 mmmcookies1975

mmmcookies1975

K-Wing Regular

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts

Posted 11 August 2012 - 12:13 PM

If you're willing to learn/move take the Calgary job...it will give you more in the long run (experience, new skills) and a fancy title :)