The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

27 Dead in Connecticut Elementary School Shooting

Jägermeister

I'm doing my PhD. I do research for a living. Methodological issues are not grasping at straws, they are the crux of any research-related paper. Issues with a study's methodology calls into question any of the results that are presented. Your translation of methodological issues as 'who the ???? knows', is entirely incorrect, because we do know what the issue is. The issue is that the study that supported concealed gun permits was not actually able to show that the crime rate was reduced because of the law permitting concealed firearms.

Nor do I. In fact, I think bringing up gun control is the right thing to do.

I brought it up when the Aurora shooting happened in July and if people in the US had listened, just maybe some or all of those kindergarteners would be alive to make Christmas something more than a living hell for their parents this year.

The number of people killed vs response to those ways has never been remotely considered.

We lose our collective shiate when this happens, but far more people die daily in car crashes. The reaction to that? Ho hum, so what. I would imagine more people die from falling fridges than terrorism but look where we're spending our money there.

To think we'd act according to the actual need would mean logic and rational thinking, something politicians and the throbbing masses aren't interested in.

The number of people killed vs response to those ways has never been remotely considered.

We lose our collective shiate when this happens, but far more people die daily in car crashes. The reaction to that? Ho hum, so what. I would imagine more people die from falling fridges than terrorism but look where we're spending our money there.

To think we'd act according to the actual need would mean logic and rational thinking, something politicians and the throbbing masses aren't interested in.