The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

Are you happy with your master's degree?

GLASSJAW

You can be as specific or vague as you like, but for those of you have received your master's degree, what do you think?

Was it a wise choice, financially? Did it lead to a job, or provide you with skills that enabled you to land a job, etc.? Or did you just do it to avoid the 'real world' and out of interest?

For those who are feeling particularly bold: Where'd you go, how much did it cost, and how long did it take?

I'm on the fence on the issue, and almost everything I search seems to have conflicting reports. Yes, a lot of people benefit from advanced degrees, but a lot don't. It's an expensive risk. But in terms of liberal arts, as they say, the MA is the new BA. In terms of the sciences, I don't really know.

I don't have a masters degree, but I do have a few accomplishments under my belt.

I've been to law school and passed the BAR.

I have a bachelors of science and scored a 13S on my MCATS.

Many years of school after graduating high-school and I own and operate a tire store because it makes more money, takes less work, and has less responsibility.

I don't have a masters degree, but I do have a few accomplishments under my belt.

I've been to law school and passed the BAR.

I have a bachelors of science and scored a 13S on my MCATS.

Many years of school after graduating high-school and I own and operate a tire store because it makes more money, takes less work, and has less responsibility.

My plan after my undergrad was to get a masters right away. Not the case anymore, as most of my friends who got a masters are working in the same jobs and getting the same pay as those who have an undergrad. Might just be my field (health sciences/public health) but I also know that an MBA is worth a lot less these days than it used to be.

Personally the only reason I'll go back for a masters is: