The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

Drinking and driving.

avelanch

I would like to share an experience with you about drinking and driving.

As you well know, some of us have been lucky not to have had brushes with the law on our way home from the various social events over the years.

Last night I went to a hockey game with some friends and had a few too many beers and then topped it off with a margarita. Not a good idea.

Knowing full well that I was at least slightly over the limit, I did something I've never done before: I took a taxi home.

Sure enough, as luck would have it, I came to a police road block about a mile from my house but because it was a taxi, they waved it past.

I arrived home safely without incident, which was a real surprise, because I’ve never driven a taxi before and am not sure where I even got it.

seriously though, drinking and driving is bad. Don't do it.

I take it that the last line of your post is supposed to be a joke.

As far as drinking and driving goes.... There are plenty of ppl who still do it and its a shame.

Just think how it would feel if you hurt someone's family, wife, mother, father or child while you were drinking and driving. What if you killed someone's child. How would you be able to live with your self.

Never?

I am strongly against it but I can't say that I have NEVER done it. I haven't done it for at least 10 years but can't say with 100% certainty that I NEVER did during my early adulthood or teenage years.

A big reason for me not to drink and drive during my teenage years was my family telling me to leave my car where ever it was if I had a drink. Most of my friends would get in trouble if they left their car somewhere so they felt they had to drive the car home. I was lucky that my family was smart enough to know better.

I don't drink now as I've been training for the past couple of months so I don't have to worry about it anymore.