The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

Slowly losing my faith in the game

Dak72

Posted on www.nhlofficials.com

I am a 41yr old life long fan of this game. I'm a Peace Officer by profession, and would like to believe that I live my personal and professional life with integrity and honor. I must admit I've been faced with a tough choice over the past few seasons. To continue watching this game or not. My fustration has hit that level. You see, I happen to live in Vancouver...I've supported this game for a quarter of a century, seeing it through the dead puck era as well as countless lockouts. We, the true fans, have stuck with this league even when it was made obvious that the paying customer wasn't the primary focus of the league on numerous occassions. Still, we've stayed true, committed, and loyal. Where I personally draw the line is when I see the ones that are supposed to be the most honorable and professional standards of the game show that they are not. I stopped watching basketball because some of the refs showed that they were not acting in the best interest of the game and its paying fans. What I've witnessed over the past few years towards the Canucks has made my stomach turn as I truly love this game. Not because I'm a fan of the Canucks, but because I'm a true fan of the game. When I witness refs making personal choices on what to call and when to call it, instead of calling what they should be calling based on the rules of the game that they are there to inforce, I have to say I feel betrayed. Betrayed that the honor and integrity of the game I grew up loving is being compromised by a handful of refs that feel they are above the game. It should not be open season on any team, yet night after night I witness obvious calls being ignored while the ref stands literally a couple feet away. Watching the Sedins, elite players in the league, being punched in the face after the whistle on the biggest stage of the game -the Stanley Cup Fi