The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

Should I have gone to UBC?

Tangelos

Hey so I'm currently in my 3rd year at SFU and it's really started to hit me that there's really nothing going on on campus. I mean besides the student pub and Timmy hoes to cheer me up, the place just seems like such a debbie downer. In fact, I started feeling depressed after my first year. I don't want to blame SFU because maybe I just don't like school in general and am only going because it's what society expects of us: go to school and get a job; however, I wonder if UBC would have been I guess a more pleasant experience in terms of the on campus activities going on. I mean UBC gets a friggen block party and we get pub night... Don't get me wrong, I went into SFU with an enthusiastic attitude, expecting the whole "University experience" that I grew up believing in high school but now, 3 years in, I've had none of that. I'll be 21 in september, and feel like I haven't fully experienced college for what it could be and lets face it, time is running out before I have to throw away the hoodie and jeans and strap on a tie and suit if you know what I mean. And to be clear, I was accepted to UBC out of high school but chose SFU for the slightly better commute.

Also, I'm starting to wonder if "University prestige" is actually important. Not that I think UBC students are smarter, not at all, but there seems to be this lingering belief that UBC students have better chances at getting jobs outside of Vancouver since no other province has heard of SFU. Not sure if this is true, but I do hear a lot of people saying this. And as we all know, Vancouver is a very expensive place to live so I would much rather live in a province such as Quebec for example where I would have a much higher standard of living.