The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

Amanda Berry and Two Others Found Alive in Ohio

nucklehead

http://nation.time.com/2013/05/06/2-women-missing-for-a-decade-found-alive-in-ohio/

The woman’s voice was frantic and breathless, and she was choking back tears. “Help me. I’m Amanda Berry,” she told a 911 dispatcher. “I’ve been kidnapped and I’ve been missing for 10 years and I’m, I’m here, I’m free now.”

Those words led police to a house near downtown Cleveland where Berry and two other women who vanished a decade ago were found Monday, elating family members and friends who had longed to see them again.

Authorities later arrested three brothers. They released no names and gave no information about them or what charges they might face. A relative said one of them is the homeowner, his nephew Ariel Castro.

Read more: http://nation.time.com/2013/05/06/2-women-missing-for-a-decade-found-alive-in-ohio/#ixzz2SbvAE69t

Here is a CBC news story - High-profile cases of children who survived abductions

http://www.cbc.ca/ne...ound-alive.html

Included in that story is one with a local connection.

Back in March 1976 a 12-year-old girl Abby Drover from Port Moody went missing from her home.

Despite massive searches no trace of her was found.until 181 days later she was discovered in an underground bunker at the home of a neighbour Donald Alexander Hay who had kidnapped and sexually assaulted her while holding her prisoner. Hay had been one of the volunteers who searched for Abby.

Hay pleaded guilty and was sentenced to life in prison in 1977. He was denied parole on several applications and died in prison last year.