The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

Undergraduate University

listerine

Does the university where you get your undergrad degree from really matter that much? I can understand hiring someone from say UBC over Kwantlen or Capilano. But does it really matter if your from say SFU and other applicants are from UBC? Im asking because Im in my second year at SFU and im in the business faculty and just getting worried about not finding a job after graduating.

Thanks in advance

BCIT is a well known and respected school, many put them above everyone else.

UBC, UVIC, SFU, TWU, UFV are all 2nd tier schools and are all about the same. The only exception is in certain programs, like medicine, which are only offered by some and not by all of these schools.

After that, its community colleges and the like, stay away from these if at all possible!

Nope. Just do well and make sure you learn more than just what the books are teaching you. Your street smarts, your motives, your personality, and your work ethic will do more for you than where you got your degree.

Use your time at sfu to develop yourself as a human being, not just as a student

Network, network, network.

2/2.5 years away from graduation, but have become good friends with someone I met in my first year who was a few years older than me, and now he is in a hiring position with ICBC for clinical rehabilitation offices. After I get my BSc Hkin, I will probably take advantage of that networking.

Especially if you're a business student, networking (or the grapevine as business students call it) is as important as your degree.