The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

Jeff Paterson & Matt Baker - Let Go From 1040

Brendan Gaunce

What a joke that they got rid of these two guys. Jeff was super knowledgeable and extremely passionate about hockey, gonna miss his post-game shows. 

http://www.straight.com/blogra/578976/jeff-paterson-forced-sign-canucks-radio-broadcasts

d369e2c77e7c2f8b7a1806758615c3b5.png

A man with an encyclopedic mind for sports statistics is no longer going to be a presence on TSN 1040.

"In hockey terms, I'm an unrestricted free agent," Paterson tweeted to his 15,500 followers. "In real life, I'm unemployed."

The former Straight sports columnist revealed that he was "one of many told by Bell Media/TSN1040 that our services were no longer required".

"Sure, I'm angry and confused, but most of all I'm saddened," Paterson wrote. "Being on the frontline covering the Canucks on a daily basis was a dream job."

He was in this position for more than 15 seasons, first with CKNW Radio and later with TSN 1040.

41a1c61accf3e992d5a63e493610316b.png

Paterson's departure from the station is already being mourned by his fans, friends, and colleagues over Twitter.

The Vancouver Sun's Iain MacIntyre tweeted "Brutal day, Jeff, what all of us of a certain age fear. It won't define you. Your body of work is too good and vast."

More messages offering similar sentiments can be read here.

1 minute ago, Quoted said:

Yes, hard to understand getting rid of Paterson while keeping those two cretinous, dated, horrible dinosaurs.

They're so incredibly bad. I feel sorry for the people that they interview on their morning show because it's cringe-worthy.