The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

Moving to BC, a few questions!

ftmN

Hi all,

Just have a few questions about living in Canada, specifically about the job and cell phone market. My partner and I are moving to BC from Australia in the next couple of weeks and any advice or tips you can provide would be very appreciated. We are initially moving to Vancouver and are willing to move for work wherever in BC.

a ) What is the best approach to applying for jobs?

I work in IT (currently a manager for a government agency) and have been applying for jobs for the last month. I have applied for approximately 14 jobs and have not received any correspondence from any employer. I know the job market is very competitive in BC, especially around IT and it's a lot about who who know. Is there a best proforma/process for applying for jobs in BC (calling before submitting a resume etc)? Any tips for applying for jobs now and once over there is appreciated. My partner works in the health industry so she will not be able to apply until she has passed some exams.

b ) How is the quality of the cell phone companies outside of the big few? I was thinking about going with freedom mobile(have checked plans on comparecellular.com). I would like the mobile plan to be fairly vast, good amount of data, calls etc. I was wondering if I went with freedom, and for example went traveling throughout BC, would I lose data signal/location when traveling between smaller towns/how good is the signal strength?

c ) Once we find a job we will move into a shared house or furnished house by ourselves. What are the best websites for this? (e.g. craigslist/flatmates etc).

Any questions please let me know! Thanks for your time.

Have also posted this elsewhere.