The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

Need advice: phone network in Banff

Kragar

Hey CDC, especially Alberta residents.  A co-worker is heading up to Banff/Lake Louise soon for vacation (yeah, I'm jealous... it's on my travel wishlist).

Her current phone plan is too expensive to use during international travel, and wants to buy a pre-paid SIM card for her visit to Canada. Network quality is important to her.

As my phone works fine in Canada at no extra charge, I have no helpful experience for her.

Thanks in advance for your help.

58 minutes ago, Alflives said:

Our wall is almost finished, so her timing is good.  Another couple weeks, and she would need a new phone plan and a ladder.  

How about, considering it’s a vacation, your friend leaves her phone at home?  

Who knows... she might just want the convenience of having a phone up there for vacation-related things.  But, she was my boss a few years back, and she would text me at any hour when she thought of something needing doing, so I can't say she won't leave her work behind. Sad, I know.

• Upvote 1

12 minutes ago, Kragar said:

Who knows... she might just want the convenience of having a phone up there for vacation-related things.  But, she was my boss a few years back, and she would text me at any hour when she thought of something needing doing, so I can't say she won't leave her work behind. Sad, I know.

I don’t know about pre paid plans. But I have Rogers and don’t really have any issues with connections once I’m in banff. I think there’s a good 30-40 min stretch while driving out there where no there’s no service for any provider. 

If she’s in to hiking at all Johnston canyons is a nice like trip as well as lake moraine. If she’s not into hiking and is just looking for view lake Louise is beautiful and even a two jack lake is only a 10 min drive from banff and provides some nice uncrowded views. 

Edited by ForsbergTheGreat
  • Thanks 1
  • Cheers 1