The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

What are the hidden costs of running a NHL team?

Rate this topic

Doesntmakesense

I am a marketing student going for my MBA and we were given an assignment to break down the balance sheet of the Vancouver Canucks (as an estimate).

So far I have the following research and numbers confirmed:

Home Games : 41 (average ticket price $125) (average attendance 17,125) 

Home Game Revenue Expected: 41 x 17,125 x $125= $87,765,625

TV/Radio Revenue (Canucks Share): $11,000,000

Canucks Merchandise Sales: $9,000,000

Arena Food/Drinks team share: $14,000,000

Team Promotions/Extra Revenue: $7,000,000

Total Revenue: $128, 765, 625 

Now for the expenses:

Team Payroll: $81, 500,000

Arena Maintenance: 

Arena Workers Salaries:

Flights:

Hotels:

Food:

Medical/Insurance:

Team Office Salaries:

Canucks Marketing Materials/Ads:

Cost of Food/Cost of Goods:

I am very confused how owners find extra income to pay millions to their coaches, like Bab in Toronto. It was much better for the owners to pay $1 mill or less for coaches, there is no reason why coaches salaries are going up. The coaches salary is a direct hit on the owners wallet, it is dumb to accept $6 million throwing away for a coach when you are getting nothing back for it.

And this is just the start of the expense of a hockey team, what about the first class air travel, premium hotels etc? Can this be reduced to regular air travel, reduction on hotels, food vouchers etc?

I plan to be a hockey team owner my self one day, at 35 though I am struggling to understand how to afford all of the expenses above without significantly cutting costs along the way as a potential future owner.

Thoughts are welcomed. 

Aren't player salaries paid in USD?  Since your ticket revenue is $125 avg (in CAD I assume) you need to convert the salaries to CAD as well.  That chops into your other expenses even more than you had originally anticipated.