The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

Need help -for wifi TV for playoffs in my backyard

189lb enforcers?

Disclaimer - I am not tech savvy, but get the basics. 

I built this cool pool house in my back yard and it’s the perfect spot to install a TV up in the open rafters and watch playoff hockey this spring! 

What do I require to make that happen? 

I have power out there, but don’t want any other cables. The one must for me is the ability to readily watch high definition hockey and not go broke doing it. 

I will need a TV size of at least 32” to make the space work for comfortable viewing and I have nothing but room for peripheral devices like speakers. The less cable the better, but as an audiophile, I still want some quality. 

I’m hoping a few of you readers can help me get set up for an awesome playoff experience this season. It really is a great spot and I would be super grateful for your help and advice. 

Here are some details, if it makes any difference. 

I currently subscribe to Telus Optik TV and get my phone and internet through them as well.

The wifi I have is whatever that original setup came with and is located in basement along the same wall nearest the pool house. The wifi signal within the pool house shack is not full bars (probably because I live on a slope and the house foundation is also a sloping concrete wall, plus the shack’s foundation is also concrete).

I’m already paying an arm and a leg to Telus for this service and I can hit 150 a month sometimes, which seems extreme, so I’m open to change on all fronts. 

Most of our devices are Apple. We watch Netflix on the existing TV in the basement  and record some shows, but don’t actually watch 99% of the channels we get in the packages I pay for. We also have an XboxOne or whatever the hell my son calls it. We don’t use any Smart features within the house and have no plans to. 

Edited by 189lb enforcers?

1. Get whatever TV you want