The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

Cost of Auto Insurance

RyanKeslord17

Just looking for a rough estimate of insurance fees for a car between the years 2000-2005. I'm a New driver (17 years old), and have been driving for 6 months now. Won't be using it for long distances, just short runs here and there (work, school, etc.). I am in Richmond, if that helps.

Not looking for anything great, just the basic insurance plan.

Ask your parents to add you (and your car if it's your own separate car) as an occasional driver. You'll pay a lot less that way.

When I came back to Ontario I had to pay an arm and leg due to my wife being under 25. $400/mo compared to $200/6mo in California. Seems rather criminal.

It'll probably be quite a lot, I'm sorry to say. I've been driving for about 14 years with no claims or tickets on my record, live on the mid Van island, 43% discount, drive an '87 Chevy Suburban. My cost for basic insurance with collision and 1 million liability is $71.59 per month.

Based on this, my guess for you would probably be around $250 per month.

Just looking for a rough estimate of insurance fees for a car between the years 2000-2005. I'm a New driver (17 years old), and have been driving for 6 months now. Won't be using it for long distances, just short runs here and there (work, school, etc.). I am in Richmond, if that helps.

Not looking for anything great, just the basic insurance plan.

Ask your parents to add you (and your car if it's your own separate car) as an occasional driver. You'll pay a lot less that way.

When I came back to Ontario I had to pay an arm and leg due to my wife being under 25. $400/mo compared to $200/6mo in California. Seems rather criminal.

It depends on the type of car, the value of the car, and where you drive it.