Jump to content
The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

Squandered Leads: A Season Long Trend


suomistyler

Recommended Posts

From the very beginning of the season, i saw a disturbing trend with this year's version of the Canucks - the inability to hold on to the lead. Unlike in past years, this team squandered leads on a regular basis and the trend did not change going into these playoffs. We had the lead in 3 of the 4 games against San Jose and we were unable to win any of them.

During the regular season we squandered the lead 18 times in regular time! In only 3 of those games were we able to get a win in a shootout. Considering we had 22 total losses (15 regular time & 7 overtime/shootout), in 15 of those games we actually had the lead at some point or another and lost it. In six of the games we picked up a single point but otherwise we squandered 24 potential points due to losing the lead.

If you look at the schedule below, you'll even see that we went through runs of losing the lead in multiple consecutive games several times during the season. Even more concerning is that in six of those games, we ended up losing by 3 or more goals.

Including the playoffs, we had a lead and ended up losing in 8 of our last 12 games.

This team didn't just meltdown in the playoffs. Their inability to play with the lead consistently was an issue all year that went unadressed by Gillis and the coaching staff.

Considering the trend in the regular season, is it any surprise that the playoffs ended up any different? Afterall, the best predictor of future behaviour is past behaviour.

Sat, 19 Jan 2013 FINAL ANA (7) - VAN (3) lost a 1 goal lead and lost by 4 goals

Sun, 20 Jan 2013 FINAL EDM (3) - VAN (2) SO Lost a 2 goal lead and lost in shootout

Wed, 23 Jan 2013 FINAL CGY (2) - VAN (3) SO Lost a 2 goal lead and won in shootout

Fri, 25 Jan 2013 FINAL VAN (5) - ANA (0)

Sun, 27 Jan 2013 FINAL VAN (1) - SJS (4)

Mon, 28 Jan 2013 FINAL VAN (2) - LAK (3) SO Lost a 2 goal lead and lost in shootout

Wed, 30 Jan 2013 FINAL COL (0) - VAN (3)

Fri, 1 Feb 2013 FINAL CHI (1) - VAN (2) SO Lost a 1 goal lead and lost in shootout

Mon, 4 Feb 2013 FINAL VAN (3) - EDM (2) OT

Thu, 7 Feb 2013 FINAL VAN (4) - MIN (1)

Sat, 9 Feb 2013 FINAL CGY (1) - VAN (5)

Tue, 12 Feb 2013 FINAL MIN (1) - VAN (2)

Fri, 15 Feb 2013 FINAL DAL (4) - VAN (3) Lost a 2 goal lead and lost by 1 goal

Sun, 17 Feb 2013 FINAL STL (4) - VAN (3) SO Lost a 1 goal lead and lost in shootout

Tue, 19 Feb 2013 FINAL VAN (3) - CHI (4) SO Lost a 1 goal lead and lost in shootout

Thu, 21 Feb 2013 FINAL VAN (4) - DAL (3) Lost a 1 goal lead twice and lost by 5 goals

Fri, 22 Feb 2013 FINAL VAN (1) - NSH (0)

Sun, 24 Feb 2013 FINAL VAN (3) - DET (8) Lost a 1 goal lead twice and lost by 5 goals

Tue, 26 Feb 2013 FINAL PHX (4) - VAN (2)

Sat, 2 Mar 2013 FINAL LAK (2) - VAN (5)

Sun, 3 Mar 2013 FINAL VAN (2) - CGY (4) Lost a 1 goal lead twice and lost by 2 goals

Tue, 5 Mar 2013 FINAL SJS (3) - VAN (2) SO

Thu, 7 Mar 2013 FINAL VAN (1) - CBJ (2) OT

Sun, 10 Mar 2013 FINAL VAN (2) - MIN (4)

Tue, 12 Mar 2013 FINAL VAN (2) - CBJ (1) SO

Thu, 14 Mar 2013 FINAL NSH (4) - VAN (7)

Sat, 16 Mar 2013 FINAL DET (5) - VAN (2) lost a 1 goal lead and lost by 3 goals

Mon, 18 Mar 2013 FINAL MIN (3) - VAN (1) lost a 1 goal lead and lost by 2 goals

Tue, 19 Mar 2013 FINAL STL (2) - VAN (3)

Thu, 21 Mar 2013 FINAL VAN (2) - PHX (1)

Sat, 23 Mar 2013 FINAL VAN (1) - LAK (0)

Sun, 24 Mar 2013 FINAL VAN (3) - COL (2)

Tue, 26 Mar 2013 FINAL CBJ (0) - VAN (1) SO

Thu, 28 Mar 2013 FINAL COL (1) - VAN (4)

Sat, 30 Mar 2013 FINAL VAN (0) - EDM (4)

Mon, 1 Apr 2013 FINAL VAN (2) - SJS (3)

Thu, 4 Apr 2013 FINAL EDM (0) - VAN (4)

Sat, 6 Apr 2013 FINAL CGY (2) - VAN (5)

Mon, 8 Apr 2013 FINAL PHX (0) - VAN (2)

Wed, 10 Apr 2013 FINAL VAN (4) - CGY (1)

Sat, 13 Apr 2013 FINAL VAN (3) - COL (4) lost a 1 goal lead and lost by 1 goal

Mon, 15 Apr 2013 FINAL VAN (5) - NSH (2)

Tue, 16 Apr 2013 FINAL VAN (1) - STL (2) SO Lost a 1 goal lead and lost in shootout

Thu, 18 Apr 2013 FINAL VAN (1) - DAL (5) lost a 1 goal lead and lost by 4 goals

Sat, 20 Apr 2013 FINAL DET (1) - VAN (2) SO Lost a 1 goal lead and won in shootout

Mon, 22 Apr 2013 FINAL CHI (1) - VAN (3)

Thu, 25 Apr 2013 FINAL ANA (3) - VAN (1)

Sat, 27 Apr 2013 FINAL VAN (2) - EDM (7) lost a 1 goal lead and lost by 5 goals

Wed, 1 May 2013 FINAL SJS (3) - VAN (1) lost a 1 goal lead and lost by 2 goals

Fri, 3 May 2013 FINAL SJS (3) - VAN (2) OT lost a 1 goal lead and lost by 1 goal

Sun, 5 May 2013 FINAL VAN (2) - SJS (5)

Tue, 7 May 2013 FINAL VAN (3) - SJS (4) OT lost a 1 goal lead and lost by 1 goal

Link to comment
Share on other sites

i think one of the other factors that really drove this stat was our poor proficiency in the faceoff circle which went unaddressed. When you have the lead, the best defence is puck possession. If you lose a higher number of faceoffs than your opponent, especially when they are pressing to tie the game, you make yourself vulnerable to get scored against

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I think it might come down to players not trusting AV's system.

With a lead, AV plays his usual defend the lead style and maybe the players just don't give it their all anymore because they thnk its futile...

Either that or the opposition coaches know wxactly whats happening and they up their risk and pressure level knowing that they dont have to worry about the Canucks transition game because all they will do is chip the puck out of their zone.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

i think one of the other factors that really drove this stat was our poor proficiency in the faceoff circle which went unaddressed. When you have the lead, the best defence is puck possession. If you lose a higher number of faceoffs than your opponent, especially when they are pressing to tie the game, you make yourself vulnerable to get scored against

Link to comment
Share on other sites

BLOG_20110809_1.jpg

Manny Malhotra is still mulling his future, but it sounds like the sidelined Canucks centre is leaning toward resuming his NHL career next season. Malhotra, who suffered a serious eye injury on March 16, 2011, was shut down by Canucks general manager Mike Gillis in mid-February after having played just nine games.

.....

"The playing feeling is not going away," said Malhotra, who said two weeks after being shut down that he still wanted to play. "I still feel healthy and strong, I'm still working out. We'll see what the opportunities are this summer." Malhotra, who turns 33 later this month, said he's talked with the Canucks about taking on an off-ice role with the club but clearly that wouldn't happen if he continues his playing career. Malhotra, who was placed on Injured Reserve for the remainder of the season, was on the final year of a three-year contract that paid him $2.5 million a season.

The Canucks declined to comment.

Read more: http://www.theprovin...l#ixzz2SjmSrRHG

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
×
×
  • Create New...