Jump to content
The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

Bishop, Rask, Varlamov named Vezina Trophy finalists


Recommended Posts


NEW YORK -- Ben Bishop of the Tampa Bay Lightning, Tuukka Rask of the Boston Bruins and Semyon Varlamov of the Colorado Avalanche are the three finalists for the 2013-14 Vezina Trophy, which is awarded "to the goalkeeper adjudged to be the best at his position," the National Hockey League announced today.

The general managers of the 30 NHL clubs submitted ballots for the Vezina Trophy at the conclusion of the regular season, with the top three vote-getters designated as finalists. The winner will be announced Tuesday, June 24, during the 2014 NHL Awards from Encore Theater at Wynn Las Vegas. The 2014 NHL Awards will be broadcast by NBCSN in the United States and CBC in Canada.


Following are the finalists for the Vezina Trophy, in alphabetical order:

Ben Bishop, Tampa Bay Lightning

Bishop set multiple franchise records in backstopping the Lightning to a second-place finish in the Atlantic Division in his first season as a starter. He became the Lightning's all-time leader for wins in a season with his 31st on Mar. 15 against New Jersey and finished the season ranked fourth in the NHL with 37. Bishop also set a franchise mark in save percentage (.924). He tied for fourth in the League in shutouts (five) and placed seventh in goals-against average (2.23). Bishop is a Vezina Trophy finalist for the first time and the first Lightning nominee for the award since Daren Puppa placed third in 1996.

Tuukka Rask, Boston Bruins

Rask posted a 36-15-6 record, highlighted by a career-best 10-game point streak from Mar. 20-30 (9-0-1), as the Bruins captured their first Presidents' Trophy since 1990 and led the Eastern Conference in team defense (2.08 GA/game). He allowed two goals or fewer in 37 of 58 starts, set single-season highs in wins and appearances, and was the only goaltender to rank among the NHL's top five in each of the major statistical categories: first in shutouts (seven), second in save percentage (.930), fourth in goals-against average (2.04) and fifth in wins. Rask is a first-time Vezina finalist.

Semyon Varlamov, Colorado Avalanche

Varlamov led the NHL and set a franchise record with 41 victories, surpassing Avalanche head coach Patrick Roy's previous single-season high of 40 in 2000-01, and joins Roy (1996-97) as the only goaltenders in club history to top the League in wins. He ranked first in the NHL in shots faced (2,013) and saves (1,867) and thrived under the heavy workload, posting a 7-1-1 mark when facing 40 or more shots and going 32-4-4 when facing 30-plus shots. Varlamov is a Vezina finalist for the first time and the first Avalanche goaltender nominated for the award since Roy was runner-up to Montreal's Jose Theodore in 2001-02.


Leo Dandurand, Louis Letourneau and Joe Cattarinich, former owners of the Montreal Canadiens, presented the trophy to the National Hockey League in 1926-27 in memory of Georges Vezina, the outstanding Canadiens goaltender who collapsed during an NHL game on Nov. 28, 1925, and died of tuberculosis a few months later. Until the 1981-82 season, the goaltender(s) of the team allowing the fewest number of goals during the regular season were awarded the Vezina Trophy.

IMG Productions, a division of the global sports, entertainment and media company, IMG Worldwide, will produce the 2014 NHL Awards, under the helm of executive producer Steve Mayer.

A full line up of presenters and entertainment, as well as information on official 2014 NHL Awards travel packages, will be announced in the coming months. Fans can enter for a chance to win a trip to the 2014 NHL Awards. Full details are available at www.NHL.com/Vegas. Tweet about the event using the official hashtag #NHLAwards.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Here are the numbers for those interested:

Varlamov: 41-14-6 (2.41 GAA, .927 sv%)

Bishop: 37-14-7 (2.23 GAA, .924 sv%)

Rask: 36-15-6 (2.04 GAA, .930 sv%)

Price had slightly better stats than Varlamov and should've been nominated over him IMO
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Should be Bishop or Varlamov. Rask plays behind maybe the deepest team in the league, upfront and on the backend. Bishop, Varlamov play for shoot first, think about defense later teams, also look at Chad Johnson's numbers in Boston as the back-up, could put Pavelic in net for Boston and he'd have good numbers...maybe. :bigblush:

Link to comment
Share on other sites

So who lost the least?




Really makes you wonder about the Schneider trade...

Biggest loss is Toronto(buyout), Followed by Ottawa (waivers), then Washington (Erat for Varly essentially)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Wow, no Price? Shocker.

I'm going with Varlamov or Rask, I think Bishop is a long shot.

What you mean? All had better seasons than Price, who struggled at times. The 3 nominated were all consistent the whole year.

But Rask deserves it hands down. He has had had a few great seasons in a row now.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Create New...