The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

Thoughts on this PC build?

Blue90

I plan on building a gaming PC for the first time. I'm doing it through NCIX as they build my last one and they're close to me so I can pick it up easily.

I don't plan on doing any overclocking so would you guys make any changes? I'm hoping this PC will last me at least 5 years of gaming. I'm not too worried about maxing the settings. Medium/High at 1080 is good enough for me.

http://pc.ncix.com/ncixpc_new/ncixpc_print.cfm?uuid=DB0A0C6D-6103-4FE9-BD976C68FEAAF925-6445532&skulist=102345|1-91825|1-102845|1-96203|1-33130|1-100959|1-84348|1-81477|1-76036|1-93007|1-107505|1-65701|1-82953|1-33602|1-33601|1-7842|1-6024|1

Like I said this is my first time so please be gentle. Any changes?

You have no aftermarket cooler and a weak power supply. With that price tag and a gtx 970 you want around 750w of power. You're spending an extra $10 on that HDD. I think I saw a sale for a similar one around $57. Buy a case that's on sale and take the extra money to buy more fans. You need fans. And without overclocking the processor might potentially bottleneck you.

If you're not interested in maxing your settings though... you are paying WAY too much money. With a video card like that you should be aiming for max graphics.

Kick the GTX down to a 960.

A 960 is more than enough to get high quality 1080p gaming.

And try and look for a smaller SSD. To be honest, your SSD only needs to be 120GB at the absolute most, just use it to house your OS. Everything else can just go in a cheaper and regular hard drive.

You have no aftermarket cooler and a weak power supply. With that price tag and a gtx 970 you want around 750w of power. You're spending an extra $10 on that HDD. I think I saw a sale for a similar one around $57. Buy a case that's on sale and take the extra money to buy more fans. You need fans. And without overclocking the processor might potentially bottleneck you.