The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

Question About Waivers

Boddy604

When a player is placed on waivers, are they then instantly removed off of the active roster then reassigned after 24 hours or do they remain on the team for that 24 hour waiver period and are then reassigned? I couldn't find a clear answer. Was just curious cuz if Henrik and Hammer are supposed to play vs CBJ then 2 guys need to be gone by Thursday. If it's not by trade and by waivers and they do need to clear before being off the active roster, then they need to be on waivers on Wednesday. If Hank and Hammer aren't ready or a trade is happening then it's all moot anyways but I wasn't sure how this situation would work. Anyone got any idea?

5 minutes ago, Boddy604 said:

When a player is placed on waivers, are they then instantly removed off of the active roster then reassigned after 24 hours or do they remain on the team for that 24 hour waiver period and are then reassigned? I couldn't find a clear answer. Was just curious cuz if Henrik and Hammer are supposed to play vs CBJ then 2 guys need to be gone by Thursday. If it's not by trade and by waivers and they do need to clear before being off the active roster, then they need to be on waivers on Wednesday. If Hank and Hammer aren't ready or a trade is happening then it's all moot anyways but I wasn't sure how this situation would work. Anyone got any idea?

No. The player stays on the active roster unless claimed. If claimed, by any team, a roster spot opens up immediately. 

8 minutes ago, theminister said:

No. The player stays on the active roster unless claimed. If claimed, by any team, a roster spot opens up immediately. 

And if they clear, only once the player is actually assigned to the AHL are they off the roster. Some teams put players through waivers but keep them on the roster for a period before making a decision on them.

5 minutes ago, Mackcanuck said: