Jump to content
The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

Masterson Trophy finalists revealed

Who will win the Masterson Trophy?  

66 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

Recommended Posts


Ottawa Senators goaltender Craig Anderson, Anaheim Ducks forward Andrew Cogliano and Carolina Hurricanes forward Derek Ryan were named finalists for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy on Monday. The award is given to the player who exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey.

The winner will be announced at the 2017 NHL Awards at T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas on June 21 (7:30 p.m. ET; NBCSN, SN).

Anderson, 35, was 25-11-4 with a 2.28 goals-against average, five shutouts and .926 save percentage in 40 games this season. He posted those numbers while having to take several leaves of absence to be with his wife, Nicholle, who was diagnosed with a rare form of throat cancer in October. One of the most memorable moments of the season came when Nicholle told Craig, "Your team needs you," after backup Andrew Hammond sustained a lower-body injury during a game at the Calgary Flames on Oct. 28. Anderson joined the Senators in time for their next game and made 37 saves in a 2-0 win at the Edmonton Oilers on Oct. 30. Anderson received a standing ovation when announced as the game's First Star.


Cogliano, 29, is nominated for the Masterton for a fourth time in six seasons with the Ducks. He had 35 points (16 goals, 19 assists), four shorthanded goals and a plus-11 rating in 82 games. Cogliano is the NHL's reigning ironman at 786 consecutive regular-season games, having never missed a game since making his NHL debut with the Edmonton Oilers in 2007-08. The only NHL player to play in more consecutive games to begin his career was Doug Jarvis at 964 from 1975-88. Cogliano's streak is the fourth-longest in NHL history.


Ryan, 30, realized his goal of becoming a regular in the NHL this season. He had 29 points (11 goals, 18 assists) in 67 games, and three game-winning goals. After playing three full seasons with Spokane of the Western Hockey League and going undrafted, Ryan spent four seasons at the University of Alberta and then four seasons playing in Europe. He signed as a free agent with the Hurricanes in June 2015. He played six NHL games last season during four call-ups from Charlotte of the American Hockey League, and started this season in the AHL before being called up Nov. 11. Ryan is the oldest player in Hartford Whalers/Carolina Hurricanes history to score a goal when he did it in his NHL debut, March 1, 2016 (29 years, 63 days). He's also the oldest player to make his NHL debut with the Hurricanes.

Out of those three, you have to figure Anderson is the odds favorite to win; surprised Bickell was snubbed though. It seemed to me the obvious choices would be Anderson, Bickell and MacArthur.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

13 minutes ago, 250Integra said:

What about Clarke MacArthur? Probably because he didn't play any regular season games?

That's pretty much the only reason I can think of for keeping him off the ballot. Coming back after two potentially career ending concussions is a hell of a lot more impressive in my books than finally making the NHL at age 29, like Ryan. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, HerrDrFunk said:

Out of those three, you have to figure Anderson is the odds favorite to win; surprised Bickell was snubbed though. It seemed to me the obvious choices would be Anderson, Bickell and MacArthur.

They probably can't have two players from the same team, which would explain MacArthur. Bickell should have made it over Ryan easily though.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Create New...