The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

Malkin is the best Russian player in the game

Maybe he doesn't get the respect from the media, maybe he doesn't get the respect from the fans with Crosby being front and center, but in my opinion, when it comes down to PERFORMANCE, 'Gino' is the Russian player who delivers.

If I was a coach, I'd take him on my team before I would take Ovechkin.  Ovie is great during the regular season, but time and time again, he has shown he cannot elevate his game when it comes to crunch time.

It may take Malkin some time to get going... he is a notoriously slow starter, but when he does get going, he can dominate the big games like Crosby, Gretzky or Messier.

You can't talk about how strong a team Pittsburg has been without including him in the equation.

This should be common knowledge by now. Ovechkin hasn't been the best Russian player for quite some time now. The Ovechkin of today is not the same Ovechkin we used to see a few years ago. He has slowed down considerably but his peak is still something that hasn't been matched by Malkin or anyone else. He will still likely go down as arguably the greatest goalscorer of all time. During his peak Ovechkin was the most feared player in the league, when you saw him barreling down at full speed in the offensive zone, your heart leapt into your throat. A truly fearsome combination of size, speed and an incredible release.

7 hours ago, milk and honey said:

best russian player now but datsyuk was unreal in his prime. datsyuk would be my choice for best russian in the 21st century. 

Didn't play enough imo. Came close but never once eclipsed 100pts. If we're talking most skilled Russian player sure. 

11 hours ago, *Buzzsaw* said:

Maybe he doesn't get the respect from the media, maybe he doesn't get the respect from the fans with Crosby being front and center, but in my opinion, when it comes down to PERFORMANCE, 'Gino' is the Russian player who delivers.