The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

Ask a professional people toucher anything!

MeanSeanBean

That's right, I touch people for a living. More specifically, a Registered Massage Therapist. I tend to get a ton of questions about my job from patients and over the years it has really made me realize how little people know about people, who touch people. Maybe you have questions about me, the profession itself, or even a question about injuries, or other muscle related things. Maybe nobody gives a damn and this will slowly fade into the junk drawer, who knows!

Went for the eye catching title. I'm anxiously waiting for the trade deadline and bored so here we go! Ask away!

30 minutes ago, Junkyard Dog said:

My shoulder pops/cracks when I do incline dumbell chest press. Painless.

Why is that?

If it just happens one time during the start of a lift, it's likely just a necessary adjustment brought on by the tension on the muscles. Self adjustments happen through out the day and are the normal release of gases in your joints. Would sound kinda like cracking your kunkles.

If it happens regularly with a particular lift, in this case an inclined bench, as you do the work out it's likely just wear and tear on the joint. Most people have joints in their body that for whatever reason (past injuries, muscle imbalance, structural abnormalities ect) the joint doesn't sit entirely flush. When you do any particular movement the joint rubs and can produce a clicking sound. As long as no pain accompanies the sound it's totally fine and normal.

12 minutes ago, HI5 said:

That will cost extra.

TOTALLY KIDDING. 

It's part of the treatment cost already...

50 minutes ago, SabreFan1 said:

How much extra for the happy ending?

Ever hear of a sliding scale payment? Basically the exact opposite of that, but based off appearance not income.