The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

Riots of 2011

Drejka

Good evening Canucks´ fans.

I have a favor to ask and would be unconditionally grateful if somebody could help me.

I am a Slovak journalist (currently studying at UBC) writing an article on the Riots of 2011 for my alma mather website www.hokejovysvet.sk. People in my country do not really know what happened back in 2011, apart from some plain reports which had found its way to Slovak newspapers. Therefore, I am looking for people who experienced these events (or took an active part in them), who are willing to share their stories and insights. It can be anonymous, you can stick your name to your claim, I do not really care about it. It would be really nice if we could start a peaceful discussion about it here.

Thank you for your time.

Andrea

P.S. If you have other stories to tell related to Canucks or ice hockey in genereal, feel free to contact me because I would be really interested in provinding you with a voice to share them :)

15 minutes ago, HerrDrFunk said:

Also, people say it wasn't real fans out there rioting and that's bull$&!#. Of course real fans were rioting. They were disappointed, angry (and drunk in a lot of cases) over losing such a lopsided final game and took it out on their own city. 

I can agree with that but there were people down there with balaclavas and Molotov cocktails. Those people would’ve rioted regardless of the game’s outcome. I don’t think it was simply a case of a fanbase being poor losers. Then, of course, you had the drunk morons down there succumbing to the mob mentality and things snowballed from there. 

7 minutes ago, Sean Monahan said: