The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

Sam Bennett by trade or offer sheet

Offer next years 2nd round pick+  to Calgary in a sign and trade for Bennett, or offer sheet him to 4 years @ 3.5 million.   Compensation if Calgary doesn't match is a 2nd.   

He might look good in our top 6 on the wing or in the 3C spot.  Could move Sutter to the wing or trade to recuperate a pick and save some cap.  Gaudette can play the wing and be there for when injuries happen.

Petterson, Horvat, Bennett, Beagle is a solid center group when you have Sutter and Gaudette to step in.  We become younger, faster, more skilled and more physical. 

Contract projections have him at 3 years @ 2.85 million.

Thoughts?

• Upvote 2

21 hours ago, JohnnyCanucks12 said:

Offer next years 2nd round pick+  to Calgary in a sign and trade for Bennett, or offer sheet him to 4 years @ 3.5 million.   Compensation if Calgary doesn't match is a 2nd.   

He might look good in our top 6 on the wing or in the 3C spot.  Could move Sutter to the wing or trade to recuperate a pick and save some cap.  Gaudette can play the wing and be there for when injuries happen.

Petterson, Horvat, Bennett, Beagle is a solid center group when you have Sutter and Gaudette to step in.  We become younger, faster, more skilled and more physical. 

Contract projections have him at 3 years @ 2.85 million.

Thoughts?

I just read the SN article on this:

https://www.sportsnet.ca/hockey/nhl/offer-sheet-flames-sam-bennett-make-sense-canucks/

Bennett would make an interesting acquisition..  Tanev straight across?

but we would have to add due to Tanevs fragility.. 

It is interesting,  but where do we end up for the “extortion draft” ?

The timing of Seattle’s expansion could not we worse for any team rebuilding that shows promise.

• Upvote 1

30 minutes ago, SilentSam said:

I just read the SN article on this:

https://www.sportsnet.ca/hockey/nhl/offer-sheet-flames-sam-bennett-make-sense-canucks/