The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

Ideas for replacing Hamonic?

Rate this topic

DeepThoughts

2 minutes ago, DeepThoughts said:

Nucks may end up having one of the best offensive d trios in the league. Don’t think OEL or Hughes are going anywhere. Rathbone might be our best chip down the line, particularly if he shows well this season. Dobson? Foote?

Whos going to defend?  You win with defense first.. not 1 dimensional offensive dmen.

Ppl on this board keep boasting about our offensive dmen have spent way too much time playing fantasy hockey.

• Like 2

Ya. I think what you see is what you get right now. The team would be so much better with at least one first or second right side defenseman and right now we don’t have any. It is a major red flag where I feel we will have to outscore our opponents. It was one area they needed to address in free agency or by trade in the off-season and didn’t. I know a lot of people mention Hamonic but even with Hamonic it was a weak point. I think it’s going to be a problem until it is addressed. Especially when injuires hit the team.

Edited by Canuckfanforlife82
  • Cheers 1
  • Vintage 1

39 minutes ago, JM_ said:

Internal competition. One of Juulsen, Schenn, Woo, Bowey, Burroughs gets a chance to step up for #3 RHD.

This, pretty much in the short term.  Maybe a long term solution comes of it.  You never know.

I think they haven't given up on Hamonic playing.  He may very well come to terms with his issues.  Waiving him is a pretty safe thing to do because nobody's going to bite on a $3M cap hit who isn't reporting and it gives them some cap relief.

Longer term, as I've posted elsewhere, I think Benning should be looking for opportunities to pick up right side help rather than trying to force the issue.  That would result in overpayment imo

• Vintage 1