Jump to content
The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

[Official] Canada’s Women National Football Team (Soccer)

Rate this topic


StanleyCupOneDay
 Share

Recommended Posts

First matches of the year on the road to CONCACAF and World Cup qualifying.

 

The inaugural Arnold Clark Cup starts today with Canada, Germany, Spain and England national teams facing off once each.

 

Christine Sinclair is out for Canada due to the unfortunate recent passing of her mother. Jessie Fleming is now the captain of this team.

 

Not sure why TSN has decided to have each game on different channels including replays.

 

Today:


TSN5 6:20am PST/9:20am EST Germany vs Spain

 

TSN1 9am PST/12pm EST Replay Germany vs Spain

 

TSN1/TSN4/TSN5 11:00am PST/2pm EST pregame show

 

TSN1/TSN4/TSN5 11:30am PST/2:30pm EST England vs Canada

 

TSN2 6:30pm PST/9:30pm EST Replay England vs Canada

 

Feb. 20th

 

TSN1/TSN4 7am PST/10am EST England vs Spain

 

TSN4 10am PST/1pm EST Replay England vs Spain

 

TSN4 12pm PST/3pm EST pregame

 

TSN4 12:15pm PST/3:15pm EST Canada vs Germany

 

TSN1/TSN4/TSN5 5pm PST/8pm EST Replay Canada vs Germany

 

Feb. 23rd

 

TSN1/TSN4 6am PST/9am EST pregame show

 

TSN1/TSN4 6:30am PST/9:30am EST Spain vs Canada

 

TSN4 9:20am PST/12:20 pm EST Replay Spain vs Canada

 

TSN1/TSN4 11:20am PST/2:20pm EST England vs Germany

 

Coach Bev Priestman will continue after she helped Team Canada win Gold in Tokyo last summer (the first ever major world tournament win in Canadian history for men or women soccer).

 

Meet the team!

 

CANADA
GK- Sabrina D’Angelo | SWE / Vittsjö GIK
GK- Devon Kerr | USA / Washington Spirit
GK- Erin McLeod | USA / Orlando Pride
GK- Kailen Sheridan | USA / San Diego Wave FC
CB- Kadeisha Buchanan | FRA / FCF Olympique Lyonnais
CB- Vanessa Gilles | USA / Angel City FC
CB- Shelina Zadorsky | ENG / Tottenham Hotspur
FB- Gabrielle Carle | SWE / Kristianstads DFF
FB- Allysha Chapman | USA / Houston Dash
FB- Jayde Riviere | USA / University of Michigan
FB- Sura Yekka | FRA / Havre AC
M- Marie-Yasmine Alidou D’Anjou | AUT / SK Sturm Graz
M- Jessie Fleming | ENG / Chelsea FC
M- Julia Grosso | ITA / Juventus FC
M- Ashley Lawrence | FRA / Paris Saint-Germain FC
M- Victoria Pickett | USA / Kansas City Current
M- Quinn  | USA / OL Reign
M- Sophie Schmidt | USA / Houston Dash
M- Desiree Scott | USA / Kansas City Current
F- Janine Beckie | ENG / Manchester City FC
F- Tanya Boychuk | USA / University of Memphis
F- Jordyn Huitema | FRA / Paris Saint-Germain FC
F- Cloé Lacasse | POR / SL Benfica
F- Nichelle Prince | USA / Houston Dash
F- Deanne Rose | ENG / Reading FC


:gocan:

 

GO CANADA GO!

  • Thanks 2
  • Cheers 1
  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

As disappointing as it is to see Sinclair out, I think the torch had already been passed. Beckie is probably the team's #9 and Huitema looks to be the striker of the future.

 

Fleming is an excellent choice for the captain as well. I still want to see Sinclair surpass the 200 goal mark, but I think it will likely be in a supporting role.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

4 minutes ago, RUPERTKBD said:

As disappointing as it is to see Sinclair out, I think the torch had already been passed. Beckie is probably the team's #9 and Huitema looks to be the striker of the future.

 

Fleming is an excellent choice for the captain as well. I still want to see Sinclair surpass the 200 goal mark, but I think it will likely be in a supporting role.


Definitely no complaints from me with choosing Fleming as captain. I agree that the roles are going to start to reverse in future games with the team carrying the load so Sinclair can get her big time game busting goals. It reminds me a bit of Atiba Hutchison’s situation with the men’s team. For so long being the only Canadian of note to play soccer and carrying the country on his back.
 

It’s a new generation taking over on both sides and they’re stronger, faster, tougher and smarter then all of the previous generations to play. Exciting times in Canada Soccer.

  • Cheers 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 month later...

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
 Share

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
×
×
  • Create New...