The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

Agriculture Technologies

WilliG

Personally, I don't have much to say in this as I don't really know where this conversation's supposed to go?

However, having graduated from computer science and indirectly being in the field of AG technologies at the moment, while I don't feel like I have much of an opinion at this point (I'm just a backend developer), I will say that a lot of the technologies right now are more to assist farmers than anything else. I don't see technology as necessarily to replace workers (albeit there is the possibilitiy of the odd farmhand not being needed)/

Edited by The Lock

1 hour ago, The Lock said:

Personally, I don't have much to say in this as I don't really know where this conversation's supposed to go?

However, having graduated from computer science and indirectly being in the field of AG technologies at the moment, while I don't feel like I have much of an opinion at this point (I'm just a backend developer), I will say that a lot of the technologies right now are more to assist farmers than anything else. I don't see technology as necessarily to replace workers (albeit there is the possibilitiy of the odd farmhand not being needed)/

John Deere is putting 60 something +/- 400 hp tractors in fields this spring that have no operators in the cab. Combines aren't far away.

3 minutes ago, Boudrias said:

John Deere is putting 60 something +/- 400 hp tractors in fields this spring that have no operators in the cab. Combines aren't far away.

But there's still a farmer that needs to be out there. Just because there's no one in the cab, doesn't mean it's a field without anyone. There's also the matter of managing the field.

It's easy to point at technology and become scared of it, but it's also important to look at what would be changing along with it.

(Edited: I had a werid typo stating "funny" in there for whatever reason)

Edited by The Lock

2 hours ago, The Lock said: