Jump to content
The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

2022 James Norris Memorial Trophy finalists unveiled

Rate this topic

2022 James Norris Memorial Trophy  

48 members have voted

  1. 1. Who will win the James Norris Memorial Trophy?

    • Victor Hedman
    • Roman Josi
    • Cale Makar

This poll is closed to new votes

Recommended Posts



Nashville's team runs through him, whereas Makar is another outstanding piece on the Avalanche.


I know that sounds like an MVP justification, but it's what gives Josi the edge on another offensive d-man who can play defense.

  • Cheers 2
  • Vintage 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hedman quietly had possibly his best season yet with 20 goals and 85 points while continuing his solid defensive play and >2min SH TOI/game. However he was overshadowed by Josi's 96 points and by Makar's flash (and 28 goals).


My guess at the top 10

1. Roman Josi

2. Cale Makar

3. Victor Hedman 

4. Adam Fox

5. Kris Letang

6. Devon Toews

7. Aaron Ekblad

8. Jaccob Slavin

9. Quinn Hughes

10. Charlie McAvoy

  • Cheers 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...

Josi just had a season for the ages.    Crazy to think about how many very good, to outstanding D's Nashville's produced, even after Suter and Weber left.   They've been spoiled that way.   But it always came at a cost somewhere else - the fact he managed 96 points not playing for COL or TB is something that can't be overlooked.   On any other given year the last decade - both Hedman and Makar would easily win.    Reminds me of the quality of D's the league had for 3 decades before the early-mid 2000's.    Potvin/Orr/Robinson/Park.   Borque/Coffey/Langway/Housley/Chelios/Leetch/Al Mac/Pronger/Lidstrom/Blake /Zubov/Neidermayer etc etc ..  it's really nice to see things go full circle again.    When was the last time a D broke 90 points?   Makar looks poised to be one of just a few all-time, to break 100..


It appears the league skill level is finally catching up to expansion.  Of course no redline speeds it up, but even that wasn't enough for 15 or so years....   What an exciting time to be a fan.  

  • Vintage 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 4 weeks later...

Makar is the best hockey player since Bobby Orr.  But Josi deserved the Norris this year.  Makar will win the next 8.  Votes should be made public and be forced to be supported with evidence.  Josi getting third place votes after 96 points on a crap team is crazy.  


Edited by Alflives
  • Thanks 1
  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in

Sign In Now
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Create New...