The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

Career Advice

FlappyLappy

Hey Guys,

Im in need of some career advice. Currently I have a college diploma and working on my applied degree. I also have 4+ years in accounts payable and receivables, and am active on my job search have had 3 interviews in the last week and 2 more coming up.

I am doing some temp work for an investment firm (doing data entry). There is not much room for growth there other then Team lead of AP (big woop) and they have offered me a permanent position at $34,500 (yuck i know).

I am just not sure if I should take the safe bet and this job or keep looking for bigger and better based on my education and work experience so far. the main reason I am debating this is I have to do a 8 month practicum to get my applied degree but I cannot start that till January. So I am really stuck on do I take the job I am way over qualified for and absolutely hate but will get my practicum or do I keep looking for something I have experience in.

BTW I have to finish my degree by December 2015-2016 so there is still time, just very unsure.

Please help an aspiring accountant.

Is there any reason it has to be one or the other?

Why not take this job for now and continue to seek bigger and better? Just as an employer typically puts new people on probation, you can also put the employer on probation. If they aren't the right fit, or if you find something better, you can always move on.

Is there any reason it has to be one or the other?

Why not take this job for now and continue to seek bigger and better? Just as an employer typically puts new people on probation, you can also put the employer on probation. If they aren't the right fit, or if you find something better, you can always move on.

Guest BuckFoston

Forbes had this article a few months ago that sums everything up perfectly for career oriented individuals that dare to dream of what they actually deserve: