The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

[Proposal]A Few New CBA Contract Rules

I am no expert on how the league revenue works, or how some of these rules are made, but I want to see your opinions on these.

1) Max contract length 5 years.

-Long term deals are stupid

-Less of this longer deals for smaller caphit bs.

2) Your caphit is not the annual average pay of your salary, it is Whatever you get paid.

Example:

Canucks sign Shane Doan to a 3 year contract worth 18mil. If it was by the current CBA, his caphit would be 6mil, but lets say the Canucks "frontload" his contract to this structure.

1st year: 8mil

2nd year: 7mil

3rd year: 3mil

Doan's cap hit would be 8mil in the first year, 7 mil in a 2nd year, and 3mil in the 3rd year.

-Now owners would have to think about their offers to the players they want to sign.

-To me it just makes too much sense, but I'm probably missing something of why this wouldn't happen.

-This with the first change could really end these front loaded contracts that the league hates.

3)No more NMC or NTC

-Most GM's ask their players to waive it or players want to leave. If your living up to your contract, this shouldn't be a problem.

Thoughts?

I've long advocated #2 on your list. I don't see the NHLPA having an issue with it either.

The players may still get front-end loaded contracts, it's just that the team would have to have the cap space to make it work. That way they can make big money early on, and if they feel like retiring early, so be it.

Long term deals suck for fans, but what about the player's families? Long deals give the family security and a home, not just a place to live. I'm not a fan of those long contracts either, but it provides something for the players and their families.