Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

AriGold

2013 World Junior Ice Hockey Championships

2,775 posts in this topic

Camara was especially choked because the ref didn't put his hand up to signify a penalty. Doubtful he would get off scott free, Camara stayed on the ice, then asked the ref what he thought and the ref said it was clean. Then a minute later he's out for the game.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@TSNBobMcKenzie

Under the circumstances, some truly amazing ratings for CAN-GER game on TSN on Boxing Day (Dec. 26).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The Canadian squad, already missing forward Boone Jenner who served the second game of a three-game suspension, could potentially have 11 forwards for their game against the U.S. if Lipon is handed a suspension. His hearing with the IIHF's two-man committee is scheduled for 10pm et tonight.

The IIHF indicated after the game that there will be no supplementary discipline review for Camara.

(From the first page story in the WJ section on TSN.ca)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Bruins? Uhh.....Kesler, Burrows?

Plus Canada understands that dives/embellishment will be called in their favor and pretty much every team in this tournament is diving. Might as well take advantage of it if reffing is a joke.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
That's what happens when you skate with your head down. Keep your head up kid and that hit doesn't happen. Vicious, but not dirty in any way.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This hit was a beauty. I can't believe, or understand why he was given a 5 and game for it. Was there some sort of explanation for why he was given the penalty?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
No explanation as far as I know. I tell you man, IIHF officiating make current NHL officiating look perfect.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Was thinking more Marchand, Bergeron, Krejci, Kelly, Paille, Ference.

Bolded Comment: It doesn't matter. Diving is Cheating.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That's the worst part, being told you did nothing wrong then a minute later you're being chucked from the game.

I would have been livid.

I don't know international rules but in NA hokey the puck has to be the first thing over the blueline.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@TSNBobMcKenzie

J.C. Lipon suspended one game by IIHF. Won't be eligible to play vs USA on Sunday.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Everything sounds about right. Lipon's was a clear shot to the head, happy that it wasn't 2 games (probably helped that the guy was okay and kept playing).

Camara's hit was clean and didn't deserve 5+game, much less supplementary.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Everything sounds about right. Lipon's was a clear shot to the head, happy that it wasn't 2 games (probably helped that the guy was okay and kept playing).

Camara's hit was clean and didn't deserve 5+game, much less supplementary.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Are you actually going to argue that the Canuck's are a lesser team when it comes to diving? C'mon man....

But yeah of course it is cheating. However, in a big game against the Russians, who will obviously do the same, it is a make or break situation. The players have to adapt some how to this horrendous system of reffing know as the WJHC.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Camara kept everything down, contact to the head was incidental because Luza was crouching down. It doesn't help that Camara was told by the ref after the play that the hit was clean and that no arms went up - nothing was called till after the stretcher came out.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm pleased with the IIHF decisions on the suspensions. Lupin's hit was clearly illegal and suspension worthy, Camara's hit was clean.

IIHF got it right.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not getting a suspension doesn't necessarily mean it was a clean hit. It just means it wasn't suspension worthy.

It was still a penalty under IIHF rules. He deserved 5 minutes for that hit.

2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.