The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

Need help on buying a Guitar

_Kick_Save_

I have always wanted to learn how to play and am looking to buy an acoustic guitar that will kick start a new hobby! I admit I don't know much about different brands or anything like that, and would like some input about what guitar would be the right fit for a total noob like myself!

Thanks!

Well, depending on how much of a noob you truly are, I'd start with the air guitar just to give your body a feel for such things as:

- how you should pose

- to get comfortable performing windmills on certain riffs

- which hand you feel most comfortable leading with.

Also, the price is right.

I have always wanted to learn how to play and am looking to buy an acoustic guitar that will kick start a new hobby! I admit I don't know much about different brands or anything like that, and would like some input about what guitar would be the right fit for a total noob like myself!

Thanks!

Do not buy a guitar from London Drugs or Toys R Us. Buy one from a real music store.

Like Canuckerbird mentioned, lower end Brand name guitars are pretty decent. The prices are quite affordable and great for beginners.

I'm still playing my Beaver Creek guitar from 2005. It has needed some minor repairs but still plays alright.

P.S Your finger tips will hurt for the first few months of playing.