The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

What's your fav coffee bean (for grinder, french press, etc.)?

GLASSJAW

I'm pretty new to the coffee world, but I got a french press and grinder for xxxmas, and I'm lookin to broaden my horizons. Everything that I've tried so far has blown my mind, but that's cos I have the palate of a 3 year old--but I'm learnin.

For those of you who been in the game for a while, what do you reckon is the best bean?

Moja Coffee on the North Shore at 1412 Rupert Street, North Van.

Moja small batch roast their own beans on-site in their Probat coffee roaster and use a classic manual handmade Victoria Arduino espresso machine.

http://www.mojacoffe.../coffeeshop.htm

3306388869_f6c56b5c6a_m.jpg

Highly recommended.

3307218962_367dcbda94_m.jpg

If it is not too busy check if Doug, the owner of Moja Coffee is around. He loves to talk about coffee and it is like have the Discovery Channel HD for 24 hour coffee programming on hand. Also ask him about making his specialty of cocoa zucchero... Thomas Haas chocolate and espresso. I am not usually a big fan of coffee and chocolate but for this I would make an exception.

http://www.mojacoffe.../coffeeshop.htm

For the French Press he recommends Kenya AA:

Although we routinely bring in a myriad of different coffees from one of the world’s finest growing regions, our Kenya AA that we offer everyday rarely changes: a deep fragrance of wet earth and ripe berry leads a beautiful coffee that begs you to bring out the French Press. In the cup: velvety layers of ripe fruit and a thicker body than you would expect from an African coffee gives way to a sweet lingering aftertaste not unlike fine Merlot. Our Kenya AA rewards a connoisseur’s palate and makes a fantastic after-dinner coffee.

Best coffee I ever had was in a 5-star hotel in Yogyakarta, Java Indonesia. Ridiculous!