The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

Question about the teachers strike

yawn.3x

Hello friends! I feel bad because i'm currently studying to be a teacher in university and I know theres a strike going on, but I actually know very little about it. Just bits and pieces. I was hoping someone kind enough could enlighten me?

1) Why're the teachers on strike atm anyways?

2) What're their demands? I hear some people saying they want a $5000 signing bonus? I've heard of that for sports teams, but never for a teacher lol. (Like I said i know VERY little)

3) Is Christie Clark (Klark?) actually giving parents $40 per child under the age of 13 or 14 can't remember per day kids are out of school?

Thank you guys! Not trying to cause drama just want to understand it better.

Hello friends! I feel bad because i'm currently studying to be a teacher in university and I know theres a strike going on, but I actually know very little about it. Just bits and pieces. I was hoping someone kind enough could enlighten me?

2) What're their demands? I hear some people saying they want a $5000 signing bonus? I've heard of that for sports teams, but never for a teacher lol. (Like I said i know VERY little)

3) Is Christie Clark (Klark?) actually giving parents $40 per child under the age of 13 or 14 can't remember per day kids are out of school?

Thank you guys! Not trying to cause drama just want to understand it better.

This is one of the worst places to ask about contentious issues like the teachers' strike.

This board is most likely going to have members aligning themselves with one side or the other. Therefore, depending on which posts you read first (or not at all), you're going to get some skewed, biased and possibly misleading information.

The teacher's strike is not nearly as simple as being "the teachers are right". It's also not as simple as saying the Government is right.