The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

Should I Make a Claim to ICBC

jhansenvoice09

The other day I was in a rush and made a stupid mistake. I was reversing out of a parking spot and scraped against a cement pillar. I am a new driver and I am unsure of the whole process as of now. I was advised by some friends to pay the expenses out of pocket to avoid a raise in my insurance cost. The estimate for the repair is around $1200 - $1600. My deductible is $300. Is it worth it to just pay out of pocket or is the repair cost small enough that it is better served to make a claim and pay extra per month for my insurance?

If any more details would garner better opinions just let me know.

As a new driver making a claim, you are quite possibly looking at a 40% increase next year, 35% the year after, 30% the following year and 25% in the 4th year before you go back to what you are currently paying. In addition, you'd be reducing your premiums by 5% every year if you do not claim, so you'd have a 20 or 25% discount after the same amount of time.

I believe these are the current numbers, but if not, it is something relatively close to this...

Out of pocket for sure. Drive-By Body Pierce explained it well

Also: shop around for prices for the fix. I did something similar (fron panel on pillar) and the original estimate I got was $2500, I tried a few other places and ended up paying $900 for the fix and it looked like new. It was only body work though... I don't know if I would go bottom of the barrel pricing for mechanical unless I already knew the guy...

Hope this helps

You def want to work toward that max discount as quick as possible. I have road star plus and when I got into an accident my rates didnt go up. Think that was after being at max discount for 10 years.