The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

[Discussion] After the OEL buyout, is Millar worth more as a trade before June 30 or experience we need as mentor

We all knew cap was an issue. I bet OEL would have re-negotiated his contract to 2 MIL per year for 8 years with a cash payment of 10 mil. but there is the "contract"

If I had a contract and couldn't reasonably fulfill the duties of that contract, (like if I was a plumber, electrician, or a man-whore who couldnt perform) I could re-negociate said contract before the opposite party sued me. NHL teams dont have this option.

Is Millar going to be worth this new shiny contract? Can we burn it before it goes to effect?

Miller is going no where.. they wouldn’t buy out OEL just to trade miller.. if they even thought about trading miller then OEL buyout never would have happened. Whether or not he will live up to his contract? I say no just because part of his game is he likes to skate around with the puck and he’ll prolly lose his speed first. Look at the drop off of oreilly and such. There’s always exceptions but it’s never the Canucks. And usually those exceptions are future hall of famers.. miller is no where near one of those 

• There it is 1

They’d need an ironclad “in” on a 2C before they moved Miller.  

Although, Nick Schmaltz could fit the bill and be available from the Jokeotes. Not sure he’d cost significantly less than what Miller would return.

No one except Petey and Hughes is untouchable but I don't see the point of trading JT unless the pieces coming back are of a quality that makes up for some of the lost production. Considering the moves this team has made recently, the return needs to be more than just cap space and futures. 

12 minutes ago, Toews said: