The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

Why the Canucks shouldn't make the playoffs (not about draft)

Boest-er

Hello CDC, long time reader rare poster. (also sorry I'm a terrible writer just wanted to post my thoughts out there)

I just felt like I needed to express something given our current situation of people wanting to make the playoffs and people who don't.

IMHO The Canucks shouldn't make the playoffs for one reason: They aren't tough enough/ don't stand up for each other,

Our team throughout this season has been getting hurt badly on the injury front with some players leaving due to cheap shots from other teams(where even the league didn't suspend them). Now if we make the playoffs I believe when the whistles are put away we are going to get hurt quite badly, and I don't want to see any of our young players getting injured and becoming scared of doing any risky maneuvers ever again(ala rushing the net). 

It could, in all honesty, help the team, by giving them a little glimpse into what they have to do in a playoff environment in order to survive, however, I don't think this experience is worth it compared to if some of our players are injured. 

TL;DR

team is too soft ATM, might get hurt badly when whistles are put away thus playoffs may end up hurting us in more ways than one.

Thanks for reading!

I still think it's more worth the experience, even if they get pummeled, for two reasons:

1) It shows even more to management that we need some more toughness; and,

2) It shows our team that we need to train as hard as possible in the off season and get stronger.

There are other reasons why I think it's better, but this thread is about what it's about.