The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks
Canucks Community

Now and then: CDC

-AJ-

I was thinking about how long I've been on CDC for and how much it has persevered throughout many years of my life now. I've been on CDC and a lot has changed since I first joined.

I joined CDC in July 2010. Back then, I was 17 and had just finished grade 11. I had just picked up my first job that would eventually last a while, a job as a janitor at an Elementary school to the high school I was attending. Since then, I graduated high school, began a BBA degree at at university, and completed it, taking 5.5 years to do so. I now work full-time as an accountant and just turned 25 a couple months ago. I recently started the CPA education program and am looking to move out on my own soon.

How about you? Some of you have been on here for less time than me, but a lot can change in a few short years. Some of you have been here even longer than I, so I imagine your lives are quite different now.

I've been working the same purchasing job for the same company since I joined CDC in 2011.

At that point in my life my son was 18mo old and I had started to come to terms with not going out to the pub / going to a friends and talking hockey over a few beers. I missed talking hockey with the boys and needed it as bad as the wife and little guy needed me at home. So I started weighing in via text.

What's changed? Not my job, yet... I'm getting bored, have been looking at postings and noticing a lot of need for my skills, but the only ones that pay better are in industries I really don't see as exciting. I'm sure a bunch will start popping up in the new world of weed, and that might be fun. But I do enjoy my industry and purchasing can actually be very rewarding in a number of ways.